Enclaveforum.net
Bookmark and Share
September 18, 2014, 09:47:10 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
News: Forum Tip: Click the little blue 'new' icon next to any topic to jump right to the first unread message.
   
   Home   Help Search Gallery Login Register  
Registered users see fewer ads.
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Nav Lockout By-Pass: Anyone try this?  (Read 43510 times, 175 Replies)
rwagoner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 298
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Joined: Oct 2007


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #160 on: August 26, 2009, 02:30:01 AM »

I put in the switch a few months ago and always switched back after I entered the address. My wife who uses the car now, claimed she never uses the switch but now can enter addresses while moving. I didn't think it was possible. Well, we just returned from vacation to South Carolina and sure nuff, it works without switching back. Worked great. Now I can hide the switch and not have to worry at all.

There is a mention earlier in this thread about the way it will -- after a time -- default back to only using GPS and not needing the "motion" pulse (speed sensor)  that the switch turns off. Without the speed sensor you would lose a little accuracy in tunnels or where GPS signals can't be picked up well. Other than that, is there a downside? It SEEMED that the movement on the screen worked about the same once the GPS-only mode kicked in. On the other hand, there must be SOME reason they do it, otherwise why waste a wire?
Logged

2008 Enclave CXL AWD Platinum/Titanium - Luxury Package, Driver Confidence, Navigation, Trailering, Chrome Wheels, 8 Passenger - Delivered 10/19/07
johnt26
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333
Location: Philly 'Burbs
Joined: Oct 2007





Ignore
« Reply #161 on: August 28, 2009, 03:26:54 PM »

Installed today, works great, thanks to all.

One question: I found a taped bare wire in the harness for the brown plug that isn't connected, is that normal?  I stripped a few inches of black tape back, it was still bare as far as I could tell. 

I chose 3Pod's mounting location to save drilling a hole.  I'll experiment with the switch off and GPS only mode.  I agree with others that it's probably better to leave it on for tunnels, downtown areas, tree canopies and such that may cause the map to stop updating (like my garmin does with no VSS).

Logged

2008 delivered 11-07 Cocoa/Cashmere CXL AWD 7 Pax with Ent. #4(navi/rear DVD), confidence/luxury/trailering/roofs/chrome 19s/assist steps/net/shade...added factory crossbars, Weathertechs, wired-in Escort, Advanced 2-way remote, Navi lockout bypass switch
johnt26
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 333
Location: Philly 'Burbs
Joined: Oct 2007





Ignore
« Reply #162 on: September 01, 2009, 01:48:58 PM »

After using the lockout bypass switch it for a bit, leaving the switch in bypass only makes it act like a non-vss equipped GPS. That is it loses signal under trees and in tunnels and such, only momentarily in my experience.  I like leaving it in bypass so that I can see the XM categories and especially the entire turn list.
The problem with switching back and forth is that it takes about 5 minutes to go into GPS only mode so I'll probably keep it the way it is unless I happen to drive into the big dig tunnels in Boston.
Can anyone living there tell me what happens to the nav if a route is not programmed and you turn in a tunnel?  Is there an input for compass heading as well so the navi knows a turn was made?
Thanks!
Logged

2008 delivered 11-07 Cocoa/Cashmere CXL AWD 7 Pax with Ent. #4(navi/rear DVD), confidence/luxury/trailering/roofs/chrome 19s/assist steps/net/shade...added factory crossbars, Weathertechs, wired-in Escort, Advanced 2-way remote, Navi lockout bypass switch
jbradfor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 410
Joined: Dec 2007




Ignore
« Reply #163 on: September 03, 2009, 09:32:41 AM »

jbradfor, unfortunately, just about all of the functions on the radio are controlled by an input via the GM LAN-BUS.  When the vehicle is in PARK, the radio knows it via a computer communication.  The VSS wire is one of only a few "physical" inputs into the rear of the radio that can be manipulated.  Now in aftermarket units like the Kenwood, it is done by simply grounding the wire that is supposed to go to the parking brake.

Is there actually a switch that is used to know when the car is in park, or does the system always know what gear the car is in and the DVD gets it from there?  If it's the former, I'm wondering if there is a way to add a bypass switch between the switch in the shifter and when the status information gets sent across the LAN-BUS.
Logged
leemarkl
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1
Joined: Oct 2008




Ignore
« Reply #164 on: September 05, 2009, 07:26:11 PM »

I installed a by-pass switch today, and it works great! I had been unhappy with the state of the nav system in my 2008 Enclave, and today I came across this string on the Enclave Forum. Don't know how I missed you guys before, but now I'm a happy camper. I installed a rocker switch in the lower panel underneath the steering column. Bomber664's and Bsox's pictures/descriptions were very helpful. There was a courtesy lamp in the "open hole", so I went the hole-drilling route which was pretty simple. The result was a clean and out-of-the-way installation. I stuck with that location because the panel was easy to take off, and the switch was easily accessible. My wife and I went for a test ride, and she was able to enter destinations, POI's, etc. while we were moving. Thanks again for a viable solution for a problem that really shouldn't exist.
Logged
bbjrhome
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 85
Joined: Sep 2009





Ignore
« Reply #165 on: January 31, 2010, 06:35:44 PM »

Just finished my install.  Works as explained,  took about 35 minutes.   I put it inside the little pocket under the, heater controls/switch back.   I do a lot of driving and putting it elsewhere where I would have to take my eyes off the road to engage and disengage didn't make sense for me.

See picture.....
Logged

2010 CXL-2   Quick Silver Metalic, Titanium interior, 2nd row captain chairs,
2nd row/rear center console, 20" Chrome clad wheels, Tow package, Enhanced Bose with navigation.

Mods
Tinted 1st row windows, 35%,   VSS Nav overide switch, 10" Infinity Kappa subwoofer, MTX Jackhammer 300W,  20gb hdd
rockyp
Enclave Guru
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 2582
Location: Tacoma, WA
Joined: Jan 2008



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #166 on: January 31, 2010, 06:51:19 PM »

Looks quite nice!!
Logged

2008 Cocoa CXL AWD, Nav, Rear Ent - Owned 72 months, 135,900 miles. Traded 9 days short of 6 years of ownership for new Subaru Outback.

Why are they called "hemorrhoids"? Shouldn't they be called "asteroids"?
rwagoner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 298
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Joined: Oct 2007


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #167 on: January 31, 2010, 07:01:13 PM »

Just finished my install.  Works as explained,  took about 35 minutes.   I put it inside the little pocket under the, heater controls/switch back.   I do a lot of driving and putting it elsewhere where I would have to take my eyes off the road to engage and disengage didn't make sense for me.

See picture.....

EXACT same place I put it. Since I never posted a photo ... thanks to you, now I don't have to!

You even have the switch facing the same way (on is up) as mine. My wife accidentally shuts it off all the time when she puts her cell phone in the cubby.
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 07:19:34 PM by rwagoner » Logged

2008 Enclave CXL AWD Platinum/Titanium - Luxury Package, Driver Confidence, Navigation, Trailering, Chrome Wheels, 8 Passenger - Delivered 10/19/07
caveboy
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 15
Joined: Feb 2010




Ignore
« Reply #168 on: March 06, 2010, 12:07:53 PM »

Does this bypass allow the front passenger  to view the DVD  while I am driving?
Logged
rwagoner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 298
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Joined: Oct 2007


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #169 on: March 06, 2010, 10:26:56 PM »

Does this bypass allow the front passenger  to view the DVD  while I am driving?

No. That has something to do with a circuit that completes when the car is in park. I BELIEVE you CAN bypass this as well, but I do not know the details ... mine doesn't have the DVD player.
Logged

2008 Enclave CXL AWD Platinum/Titanium - Luxury Package, Driver Confidence, Navigation, Trailering, Chrome Wheels, 8 Passenger - Delivered 10/19/07
rockyp
Enclave Guru
*******
Offline Offline

Posts: 2582
Location: Tacoma, WA
Joined: Jan 2008



WWW

Ignore
« Reply #170 on: March 07, 2010, 10:21:34 AM »

Does this bypass allow the front passenger  to view the DVD  while I am driving?

I'm one of the happy users of the Lockpick. It does allow the movie to be shown on the front screen. Of course, I never look at it while in motion!  Oh No
Logged

2008 Cocoa CXL AWD, Nav, Rear Ent - Owned 72 months, 135,900 miles. Traded 9 days short of 6 years of ownership for new Subaru Outback.

Why are they called "hemorrhoids"? Shouldn't they be called "asteroids"?
sklunk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468
Location: Southcentral PA
Joined: Mar 2011





Ignore
« Reply #171 on: September 12, 2011, 01:14:23 PM »

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I just wanted to let people know this works!

I found this thread last week, and also stumbled across this one with pictures:
http://www.acadiaforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=5235.0

I wired the switch yesterday -- took me about 15 minutes (well, it actually took about 30 minutes but 15 of those were routing the wire carefully since I'm anal about keeping it hidden and protected  Happy ).  I mounted the switch up under the dash near the driver's right knee.  It's out of sight there and the only people that know about it are me and the wife.  I tested it out afterwards and it worked like a charm.

I love this forum !!
Logged

2009 CXL, White Diamond Tricoat, Cashmere, with absolutely everything except AWD, "re"-contented with some 2008 features ...
rpasetto
Enclave Freak
******
Offline Offline

Posts: 1874
Joined: Jun 2008




Ignore
« Reply #172 on: September 12, 2011, 04:43:29 PM »

Sorry to resurrect an old thread, but I just wanted to let people know this works!

I found this thread last week, and also stumbled across this one with pictures:
http://www.acadiaforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=5235.0

I wired the switch yesterday -- took me about 15 minutes (well, it actually took about 30 minutes but 15 of those were routing the wire carefully since I'm anal about keeping it hidden and protected  Happy ).  I mounted the switch up under the dash near the driver's right knee.  It's out of sight there and the only people that know about it are me and the wife.  I tested it out afterwards and it worked like a charm.

I love this forum !!

Great to hear... I looked at the pictures again... (http://www.acadiaforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=5235.msg74518#msg74518 and  http://www.acadiaforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=5235.msg69054#msg69054  )

Did you wire in at the back of the radio or at the firewall?  also did you have trouble locating the correct green/yellow wire... looks confusing.  confused confused confused

I was all ready to pull the radio  then Irene dropped a tree on the shed behind my summer house (guess that's better than the house itself)... then the 'clave sunroof started to leak...  now things are starting to get back to normal   Smiley
Logged

.. RP
08 Enclave Cocoa/Cashmere, Sunroof, Nav, Driver Conf.
....................................
“The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge.”
― Stephen Hawking
rwagoner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 298
Location: Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
Joined: Oct 2007


WWW

Ignore
« Reply #173 on: September 12, 2011, 09:06:48 PM »

MUCH easier to tap into the harness behind the radio, as I recall. And I don't remember it being difficult to find the wire. Mine is installed like the photo a few posts back in this thread.

Richard

Great to hear... I looked at the pictures again... (http://www.acadiaforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=5235.msg74518#msg74518 and  http://www.acadiaforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=5235.msg69054#msg69054  )

Did you wire in at the back of the radio or at the firewall?  also did you have trouble locating the correct green/yellow wire... looks confusing.  confused confused confused

I was all ready to pull the radio  then Irene dropped a tree on the shed behind my summer house (guess that's better than the house itself)... then the 'clave sunroof started to leak...  now things are starting to get back to normal   Smiley
Logged

2008 Enclave CXL AWD Platinum/Titanium - Luxury Package, Driver Confidence, Navigation, Trailering, Chrome Wheels, 8 Passenger - Delivered 10/19/07
sklunk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 468
Location: Southcentral PA
Joined: Mar 2011





Ignore
« Reply #174 on: September 13, 2011, 06:29:09 AM »

Great to hear... I looked at the pictures again... (http://www.acadiaforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=5235.msg74518#msg74518 and  http://www.acadiaforum.net/forum/index.php?topic=5235.msg69054#msg69054  )

Did you wire in at the back of the radio or at the firewall?  also did you have trouble locating the correct green/yellow wire... looks confusing.  confused confused confused

I was all ready to pull the radio  then Irene dropped a tree on the shed behind my summer house (guess that's better than the house itself)... then the 'clave sunroof started to leak...  now things are starting to get back to normal   Smiley

I had absolutely no trouble finding the correct wire (the Acadia writeup was great!).  Here is my version without pretty pictures:

1)  Remove the radio faceplate (which is actually easier on the Enclave -- you don't have to open the storage bin door on top of the dash).
2)  Remove the 4 socket-head screws that hold the radio in place (7mm).
3)  Tilt the radio out and remove the brown connector closest to the driver.
4)  Cut the green/white wire shown in this pic  http://i227.photobucket.com/albums/dd240/BR1522/IMG_0336.jpg and splice your extra wire in there.
5)  Find a location for your switch and mount it.
6)  Route your wire to the switch and connect it.
7)  Put everything back in place.

Now go for a drive and enjoy entering DEST/POI while in motion!  While you are in motion and the DEST/POI are locked out just flip the switch and they will light up (the NAV screen will stop moving your location while you do this).  After you enter the info just flip the switch back and the NAV screen will go back to tracking your movement.


DISCLAIMERS:

I used this switch:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2062523&numProdsPerPage=60

I also added these spade connectors at the switch to make it easier to connect/disconnect:
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2103499

I used standard 18-guage speaker wire similar to this instead of 2 separate wires (I had about 4 feet of black wire laying around the house not being used):
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=2049732&numProdsPerPage=60

Because I mounted the switch under the dash (on the black plastic shroud that is above the driver's knees) it was easy to route the wire along the footwell and I didn't need to remove the lower console like in the Acadia writeup.  Depending on where you mount your switch you may have to remove more trim pieces.

All credit goes to "br1522" on the Acadia forums for his writeup.  He did the hard work -- I just adapted it to the Enclave.
« Last Edit: September 13, 2011, 06:41:19 AM by sklunk » Logged

2009 CXL, White Diamond Tricoat, Cashmere, with absolutely everything except AWD, "re"-contented with some 2008 features ...
rpasetto
Enclave Freak
******
Offline Offline

Posts: 1874
Joined: Jun 2008




Ignore
« Reply #175 on: September 24, 2011, 03:47:42 PM »

Thanks sklunk,  rwagoner, bsox  and others who've posted information on this.  I finally got around to installing the switch.  Looking good on first road test.   Smiley

I decided to splice in the switch leads at the back of the radio, I have a switch temporarily mounted (actually "wedged in) between the console and dash so it's readily accessible to the passenger.  I'll see how that location works out before deciding on a permanent location.

Oh yeah the shed in the backyard was racked over from the weight of the tree; fixed that, and the dealer fixed the Enclave sunroof leak.  Now summer's over and we're starting plans to head west to TX.
« Last Edit: September 24, 2011, 03:54:42 PM by rpasetto » Logged

.. RP
08 Enclave Cocoa/Cashmere, Sunroof, Nav, Driver Conf.
....................................
“The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge.”
― Stephen Hawking
Pages: 1 ... 7 8 [9]   Go Up   [ Home | Unread Posts | Unread Replies ]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  
Custom Auto Accessories

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.15 | SMF © 2011, Simple Machines | Sitemap
SMFAds for Free Forums
©2014 acadiaforum.net All Rights Reserved.
All trademarks referenced herein are property of their respective owners.
Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!