EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner

2011 Enclave Front End Creaking-Right Turns only

5K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  Girl000333 
#1 ·
Okay, going to try and pick some brains out here as I'm fairly new to the Enclave, not new whatsoever to cars in general. The latest issue thats developed can best be described as a "creaking" in the front suspension. However, this only happens/can be replicated by turning the steering wheel to the right (dry steering). It can be heard driving at lower speeds when turning right, and even moving straight from a stand still. Seems to resonate through the floor, no feeling through the steering wheel. Not happening over bumps (sway bar links or control arm bushings), does not bind when turning (strut mounts), and no lateral "slop" that can be felt. Its simply an annoying creak, definite metal on metal.
So the key to this is "only turning right". Does nothing turning left. That tends to rule out rotating parts (strut/mount, ball joint and tie rod)
Recent work - PS Pump replaced by dealer, Brakes
Also, did I mention it hit a deer before I got it? Front right, but not hard enough to deploy bags, did take out rad, condenser and rad fan, cracked the bumper and destroyed the bumper support... and ate the Buick emblem from the grille! All been repaired with the exception of the wrinkle in the hood.
Mileage - 112,000 kms (70,000 miles) CXL1 2WD

We are driving to Orlando starting friday (from near Toronto), would like to solve this if possible before then! Kids in sports, time is not on my side, and help/ideas would be appreciated!

See less See more
#2 ·
I had a slight metallic knock.

I slowly replaced suspension pieces because of mileage.
the struts -I installed them at 100,000. I was now at about 144,000.

But sway bar bushings, endlinks, control arm front bushing, lower control arm with new rear bushing and ball joint, tie rods.