EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
Newbie here. I LOVE my 2016 Enclave and it has been great to me for 3 years (purchased used) but suddenly started having a very strange issue and the stealership can’t figure it out. Very intermittently while driving the power and engine turn off for a second or 2 and then it restarts itself. Almost like a reboot but the engine dies too. Radio, dash, EVERYTHING shuts off and the car hesitates until it starts itself again. Sometimes it happens every few miles, sometimes back-to-back. Checked battery terminals and all are secure. Battery reads good voltage and has been kept on a battery tender since not much driving thanks to COVID-19. Dealership says they have not been able to replicate the problem, but I’m not sure I believe that since it happens almost every time I drive the car. It’s under extended warranty and they’re saying they have no clue and want to give me back the car as is. I did a general search before posting this and haven’t found anything similar, nor a resolution. Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks and stay safe, everyone!

·
Registered
40 Posts
Sounds like a loss of power (Voltage) and GM had some fuse box issues previously. Is the dealer waiting to duplicate it before they look at anything? Has anyone looked for codes? I would check the ground cable at the engine and body. Put a heavy load (As heavy as possible) on the battery and voltage drop the ground circuit to the body and engine. Good luck.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sounds like a loss of power (Voltage) and GM had some fuse box issues previously. Is the dealer waiting to duplicate it before they look at anything? Has anyone looked for codes? I would check the ground cable at the engine and body. Put a heavy load (As heavy as possible) on the battery and voltage drop the ground circuit to the body and engine. Good luck.

·
Registered