EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to any GM product, so bear with me. How is it good that the automatic headlights can't be turned off permanently. Yes I know you can switch off the feature temporarily, but why not ALWAYS off? They come on in the garage in the middle of the day, causing the instrument panel to dim as though it is night, and it doesn't reset for more than 30 seconds. My wife is annoyed that the only "workaround" is to click the switch to the left EVERY time she starts the vehicle. Is there a feedback place online?

Further, on that troublesome dial, is it just me, or can you NOT dim the instrument panel in the daytime? I drove it today, and found that the default and ONLY setting for the instrument panel is on FULL high. Not user modifiable, twirling the dimmer had no effect in the daytime. It is annoyingly bright to me and is inconceivable that the driver cannot adjust this during the day. At first I called the dealer and he was telling me it was a fault and should be brought in, but I had a feeling he was wrong. Sure enough, when I pulled into that same garage, the headlights magically came on, and I magically regained control of the panel dimmer.

Not to worry, I love this car, but am I wrong about this? Are these "features" really well thought out? I am really frustrated by this.

·
Registered
389 Posts
I didn't (don't) think it is too bright during the day; having it come on for 30 seconds won't cause problems.

·
Registered
314 Posts
Years ago the nearby Verizon shop installed a built-in hands-off cellphone system in our car (not an Enclave). The auto-on lights went on in Verizon's work area, and by the time the job was finished there wasn't enough juice left to start the vehicle. So, yes, being able to permanently disable this can be useful on occasion.

·
Registered
1,999 Posts