EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. We have a 2020 Buick Enclave that we bought brand new. We have done all the oil changes at the dealership where we bought the car from. I never checked the motor oil since this was a brand new car. The first sign of oil loss was when we saw the low oil sign on the dash. This was about 8 months into our purchase and the car had around 10,000 miles. I immediately added oil and took it to dealer. They claimed that oil loss is normal for these vehicles and I should expect to add about a quart of oil every 2,500 miles or so. I am not a mechanic, but this sounded like bunch of BS. I tried to argue my point and didn't get anywhere. Hoping that this is not an ongoing issue and perhaps they didn't top off the oil last time, I didn't argue any further. But since then I have been checking the oil and the car definitely loses oil. I just had to add about 1.5 quarts and the mileage of the car is 24,000. I am planning to take the car back to the dealer and demand a permanent fix or some type of compensation since I don't plan to keep this car long term if it's going to continue having this problem. Upon googling this topic, it seems that there maybe design problems with certain type of GM motors related to the piston rings. I am not a car expert but it's obvious this is not a 'normal' situation as Buick has made it out to be. Does anyone else have the same problem? If so, what have you been able to do about it? Thanks.

·
Registered
438 Posts
My 13 does use some oil between changes but never enough for the light to come on. I have not noticed any oil loss in my 2020. It has about 25K on it now. I do believe your dealer is correct thought, that these engine do consume oil.