EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, newbie here looking for some info.

I have a 2009 Buick Enclave CXL FWD that has a subtle clunk from the rear over slight bumps. The noise seems like it's telescoping from the tires throught the shocks. It's subtle but annoying for a vehicle of this quality. Dealership can't find anything wrong with rear end. Please let me know if anyone has came across this with their vehicle. Thank you.

·
Registered
210 Posts
First thing I would check is the spare tire, making sure it's not loose in the well, then I would check the jack and the lug wrench making sure those are not bouncing around. Also check the battery hold down while you're at it, sometimes it's not tight enough and works itself loose.

Good Luck.

·
Registered
333 Posts
I was thinking along the same lines as Johnny but even a bit simpler. Do you have stuff stored under the rear cargo floor? I store a fair amount of stuff under there and I hear it clunk when I go over speedbumps.

·
Premium Member
21,166 Posts
I recall reading a couple of posts about rear end clunking in two Enclaves being driven by a forum member in frigid Ontario Provence. The problem was attributed to poor cold weather response of some rear suspension parts, and the issue was never resolved. If this is your situation, too, it may be the same issue rearing its ugly head.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for replies. I have not checked any of those and will do so today. Will let you know.

·
Premium Member
21,166 Posts
This morning, there was a loud clunk from the lower rear of the car while I started to drive around the cul-de-sac near my home. During the drive to work afterwards, there would be a more faint clunk when driving over some bumps, and a loud clunk again while turning into the driveway near work. Any ideas? :-\

·
Registered
4,433 Posts