EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is what the dealer tells me when I give a dollar amount. I feel guilty. Should I? This is especially when I asking for invoice.
Experts please tell me should I feel guilty.

Thanks

·
Registered
3,130 Posts
I am no expert so I will tell you not to feel guilty. ;D

They still make money off of invoice. What is holdback on GM vehicles, something like 3%? So they are still making $1000 before any other hidden factory to dealer incentives. Tell him to politely cry you a river. Plus if you are trading in, then there is additional profit there.

·
Registered
721 Posts
Like everything in life, it's a negotiation. The only time you should spend your hard-earned money is if the value exceeds the price you pay. The Enclave is a great value, even at "sticker" price. If the dealer will sell for less, good for you. Profit is not a dirty word, and if you want that dealer to be there years from now to service your vehicle, they have to make money on the deal. Dealers that sell all day at or below invoice do not last long.

Here's an example on a typical loaded Enclave:
MSRP: $45465.00 (loaded WDT)
Dealer Invoice: $42441.00
Holdback: $1341.00