EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tried to fit the Enclave in a very tight spot -as a result driver's side door handle got scratched. :mad:

Does anyone know if I can just replace a cover or is it the whole assembly that needs to be replaced?

Thank you.

·
Registered
721 Posts
How deep is the scratch? Can you buff it out? If not, you'll end up having to replace the whole handle.......... :blob:

·
Registered
1,339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I think it is beyond buffing out but I am not a pro. All body shops are cosed on Sat around here.

I will go some time next to get a professional opinion.

·
Registered
1,999 Posts
Actually I did understand your damage description as needing more than strong elbows. I should have said Paint and body work may be practical, right on the car! They perform miracles these days. Good luck :thumb:

·
Registered
1,339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I am attaching pics of the scratched handle. And apparently of lower door panel :-[

Attachments

·
Registered
1,999 Posts
Firstly, smack me with a wet noodle! I wasn't looking at it and FORGOT we have beautiful chrome door handles!! DUH! Still body shop will have no problem but I don't know if you could replace it yourself. Not repairable IMHO. Sorry

Secondly, GOOD news! Looks like some WD-40 might "erase" that lower paint scrape! (yes, WD-40!) May have to touch up a little with paint if too deep a gouge. But it will look MUCH better!

Good luck and watch out for those moving Garage walls....they jump right in front of you!! ;) ;D

·
Registered
1,339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
WD-40 definitely helped, thanks Smoking!!

I went to 2 body shops and both places insist that there is a dent on both doors. I cannot see/feel it.

Anyway, I got 3 estimates: $400, $650 and... $20. ??? The last one is for just touching up; the guy said it is not going to look perfect but pretty good.