EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
644 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Because Enclaveforum.net has been so helpful to me, I thought it might be useful to others to hear a few impressions/conclusions about comparisons between the Enclave and its competition. If this is too windy, skip it, and remember I'm not a car expert. I do lots of research on them before purchase, however. All comments welcome. Here goes:

Never having been to an auto show before, I was surprised by the fact that the models appeared to have as many hard miles on them as me. ;) Now on to a review of the cars.

Audi Q7 - I was very interested their touted diesel technology reportedly available before the end of 2008. However, a rep told me meeting emissions standards in all 50 states is taking more time than originally thought and it would likely be toward the end of the first quarter of 2009 before the "new" Q7 is in the U.S. As you all know, increasing gas prices is an issue for all of us. The durability of the engine, improved mileage, etc. are attractive; according to the rep, though, it will come with at least a $5000 price increase over the current Q7 with very few, if any, design changes. Overall impression: oppressive front end, nice profile, lack of height reduces cargo capacity. Nothing "exciting" about the interior and layout of controls. Quality of interior materials is good. Price of the diesel, according to the rep, will be $65,000-$70,000. Bang for the Buck Factor: Score Enclave 1, competitor 0.