EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Enclave 2008 gate lift does not work properly. Most often, it will open halfway and reverses direction to close before it's fully opened. I realized that when I hit the button on the remote -while the gate lift is trying to close- it releases the motor assembly (the gate will open like any manual gate with the help of the struts -free style).

I never had a problem with it until I took it to the dealership for a recall!!! As soon as they were done with the update, I noticed the problem which the recall states manifesting the next day!

My wife took it to the dealer who claimed the struts are bad and need replacement. I put new struts and the problem keeps getting worse. I'm very confident that the switch of the motor needs to be reprogram but the dealership and the GM headquarter are simply ignoring me! Isn't it funny that this is my first time to by a GM car?

My question is there a way to reset the program without resorting to the dealer again?

Thank you

·
Registered
352 Posts
You can probably find a reputable shop who can either program the vehicle themselves, or bring in the technician they use to do it for them. This can be just as much as a dealer charges or is may be less, you would have to compare. The tool used is expensive and the software updates are expensive to subscribe to, so a lot of shops will not have their own. If the shop doesn't need the Tech II tool on a regular basis, they may have a technician that they use to come in when needed, or they tell you that you must go to a dealer. Unfortunately they may only be able to upgrade to the latest version of software, they may not be able to use an older version. You would have to confirm if it is the latest version or an older version.