EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the Ottawa area and have used the turn by turn directions on OnStar quite often. The last couple of times that I have used it I have noticed that the sound for the directions only are coming out of the driver's side front speaker only. Everything is fine when I connect with OnStar and receive the directions. I wait for the route information to begin and the first direction is loud and clear through all speakers. I usually have the stereo on and can tell you that everything is okay with it also.

When the system prompts me with the 2nd direction though, it can only be heard through the front driver's side speaker only. Once it has been relayed and the stereo cuts in, the sound is once again delivered through all speakers. All remaining directions will continue to be received through the 1 speaker only and I need to crank the volume on max to here it.

As anyone else had this problem? I have tried adjusting the balance of the speakers but this appears only to be an issue with the directions only - the stereo is perfectly balanced when checked.

Any suggestions or should I take Cocoa in for a doctor's visit?

·
Registered
2,662 Posts
I don't know the answer, but I would check the onstar manual first as I would think it would say in there how the sound is routed so you will know if it is abnormal or the way it is set up. Maybe it is set up that way so as the passengers don't have to hear it? The directions also show up in written form on the DIC correct?

·
Registered
2,853 Posts
Or just push the magic Onstar button and ask 'em - they'll surely know...

·
Registered
721 Posts
They all do that-the actual "directions" only come from the small pillar speaker by the driver. Guess they figure he/she is the one who really needs to hear it...???

·
Registered
154 Posts