EnclaveForum.net: Buick Enclave Online Community banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
416 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Has anyone bought and tried that WipeNew product on their vehicle.
I bought it and am now leery about it's possible effects on the vehicle after a while.
Any thoughts ?

·
Registered
1,693 Posts
I've seen some comments posted on the Avalanche websites (I'm an Admin on one), and for the most part, the reviews have been positive. I've not seen any long-term reviews yet indicating how long the product lasts. The cladded Avalanches have lots of unpainted plastic, which severely oxidizes after a year or two. The best product found so far, bar none, to restore/protect the cladding is a product called Refinish Restorer. It's pretty expensive, but a little goes a long way. You can buy it on eBay; some people have been successful at finding local body shop supply stores that carry it.

I've had a can for about 4 years now, and have only applied the product twice. I applied two coats the first time, and only needed one the second. My truck is garaged so it doesn't get as much exposure as if it sat outside all the time. Most people who do not have a garage indicate they have to do an application annually to keep the plastic looking like new. The three coats I have applied only used about 1/4 of the can, so I figure the can will last as long as I own the Avalanche (which at this point will be forever).

Some Avalanche club members have used the Refinish Restorer on the interior plastics and they reported favorable results. I would personally be hesitant to use any product like this on treated/painted surfaces.

·
Registered
36 Posts